Like most states, Colorado takes a hard stance against driving while under the influence (DUI) offenses. A DUI charge can lead to a license suspension, jail time, and expensive fees. If you’re convicted of a DUI offense, you may face a prison sentence, significant fines, and the loss of your driving privileges. Facing a DUI charge can be overwhelming, but you do not have to face this challenging time alone. Reach out to the Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC, as soon as possible to discuss your situation and identify the most strategic path forward to secure the most favorable outcome possible.
Understanding Colorado’s DUI Laws
For police to pull you over, they must have probable cause. This can include witnessing you walk from a bar to your vehicle or swerving or speeding while you drive. An officer may investigate a DUI if they believe the driver smells of alcohol, has slurred speech, has bloodshot eyes, or exhibits other signs of intoxication. A person may meet the legal definition of “under the influence” in Colorado if they:
- Have a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher
- Have 5 nanograms or more of THC per one millimeter of blood
- Are intoxicated to the point where they can no longer operate a vehicle safely
Even if you do not meet the intoxication threshold of alcohol or marijuana for the court to formally charge you with a DUI, a driver can be arrested and charged with driving while ability impaired. DWAI involves being impaired to the slightest degree. If the DWAI charge involves alcohol, you may also be charged with DUI per se. This means you can be arrested and charged with a DUI based solely on the chemical test results.
Potential Consequences for DUI Offenses
You have the right to refuse a chemical test if an officer requests you to do so. However, many drivers are unaware of this right and give their consent to chemical testing by law enforcement. Expressed consent means you must comply with an officer’s request to take a chemical DUI test after you’ve been arrested.
If you refuse to take the chemical test, your license will automatically be suspended from the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles. Your license may be suspended for longer if you have declined multiple chemical tests during past DUI investigations.
Additionally, as of 2022, anyone convicted of felony DUI, DUI per se, DWAI, or excessive BAC offenses will be placed on probation and required to wear monitoring devices (which detect whether you have consumed alcohol) for at least 90 days. If the monitoring device shows that you drank alcohol during this probationary period, you may have your probation revoked and be sent to jail.
Advocating Passionately on Your Behalf
If you have been charged with a DUI offense and your court-appointed lawyer isn’t helping, call the Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC, right away. We have proven experience defending clients accused of DUI crimes. We will assess every detail of your case and determine the most strategic path forward to secure the most favorable outcome possible.