(719) 328-1616

What Are The Penalties For Theft?

Penalties for a theft conviction vary based on the value of the property taken.  Theft can be classified as a misdemeanor or felony offense. There are also different levels of misdemeanor and felony theft offenses under Colorado law.

The circumstance of your case can also have an impact on the penalties. For instance, conviction of theft directly from a person, which is both burglary and theft, will carry harsher penalties than theft of property that was not taken directly from a person. Using a weapon or intimidation can also increase charges. Not only this, but conviction will entail collateral consequences that could last a lifetime.

Theft Attorney in Colorado Springs

Browsing the internet for information about theft charges will not do you any good. You will need a proven defense attorney who will fight for you. The attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC are veteran defense attorneys. We will evaluate every detail of your case and make sure your side of the story is heard.

Take the first step in your defense and contact Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC. Call (719) 328-1616 to schedule a time to speak with us. We defend clients in areas such as Colorado Springs, Denver, and Littleton.


Information Center


Back to Top

Penalties for Misdemeanor Theft in Colorado

Theft is a misdemeanor when the stolen goods are worth more than $50 but less than $2,000. Listed below are the penalties for misdemeanor theft in Colorado:

  • $50 or more but less than $300: Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail or a fine between $50 and $750
  • $300 or more but less than $750: Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by three to 12 months in jail or a fine between $250 and $1,000
  • $750 or more but less than $2,000: Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by six to 18 months in jail or a fine between $500 and $5,000

Many district attorneys consider “making the victim whole,” part of their job responsibility and will fight to ensure you pay restitution. This money is used to compensate the victim for any damage caused by your criminal acts. The amount you pay varies from case to case, but it’s paid in addition to criminal fines.


Back to Top

What are the Penalties for Felony Theft?

Stealing goods valued at $2,000 or more will be charged as felony theft. If you stole property over time, the court will lump the value together. For instance, say you took $1,500 worth of goods and then $500 a week later. Instead of facing two misdemeanor charges, you will be charged with felony theft since the total value of goods is worth $2,000.

You could face the following penalties for felony theft:

  • $2,000 or more but less than $5,000: Class 6 felony punishable by:
    • Up to 18 months behind bars
    • A fine between $1,000 and $100,000
    • One year of parole
  • $5,000 or more but less than $20,000: Class 5 felony punishable by:
    • Up to three years behind bars,
    • A fine between $1,000 and $100,000
    • One to three years of parole
  • $20,000 or more but less than $100,000: Class 4 felony punishable by:
    • Up to six years behind bars
    • A fine between $2,000 and $500,000
    • Three years of parole
  • $100,000 or more but less than $1 million: Class 3 felony punishable by:
    • Up to 12 years behind bars
    • A fine between $3,000 and $750,000
    • Five years of parole
  • More than $1 million: Class 2 felony punishable by:
    • Up to 24 months behind bars
    • A fine between $5,000 and $1 million
    • Five years of parole

Back to Top

Collateral Consequences of a Theft Conviction

Criminal penalties are not the only thing you have to worry about following a theft conviction. In addition to penalties, you will have to endure negative consequences that can last a lifetime. Because the conviction will be on your criminal record, you could be fired from your job and have a difficult time finding a new one.

Not only this, but you could lose your professional license and be barred from applying for one. You may also have a hard time receiving a loan. Theft is a crime of moral turpitude, and lenders do not take kindly to it. They may view you as untrustworthy and deny your loan, which can prevent you from financing your education, home or vehicle.

Landlords also have the right to evict you if they catch wind of your conviction. They can also deny your housing application on the grounds you may pose a safety and welfare risk to other tenants. These are just a few examples of what can happen if you fail to defend theft charges successfully. Your best course of action is contacting a criminal defense attorney who knows how to defeat theft cases.


Back to Top

Additional Resources

Theft | Colorado Revised Statutes – Read up on the state’s theft laws by following the link. You can view a list of acts considered theft and what happens when force, threat or intimidation is used. The statute can be read on FindLaw.com, an online legal resource.

Property Crimes Rate in El Paso County – Follow the link to the official website of the Colorado Department of Public Safety to find stats on property crimes such as theft. You can view the data based on location type and the type of victim. The data can also be viewed based on county, state and year. 


Back to Top

Theft Lawyer in Colorado Springs

Theft is a crime that entails more than criminal penalties. Not only could you spend time in jail, but you could lose your job and be evicted. Retaining legal counsel is your best line of defense when facing theft charges. Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC believes a criminal conviction should not hinder your life. We will do everything we can to have the charges reduced or dropped.

Getting started is easy. Call (719) 328-1616 to schedule a free case consultation. We are based in Colorado Springs, but assist clients in areas such as El Paso County, Arapahoe County, and Denver County.


Back to Top

Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C.