(719) 328-1616

Sexual Assault on a Child

Any sex crime is serious, but if it involves children the penalties are even more severe. Allegations of sexual assault involving a child could seriously affect your life. Employers and licensing agencies will be able to see the conviction on your public record. It could even affect your ability to obtain housing. This doesn’t even include the potential fallout of being registered as a sex offender.

If you or someone you know has been charged with sexual assault of a child, it’s important you find quality legal representation. You will need a sturdy defense to fight your charges. Hiring an attorney will significantly increase your chances of having your charges reduced or dismissed.

Defense Attorney for Sexual Assault of a Child in Colorado Springs, CO

Sexual assault of a child can lead to felony charges, so you could potentially go to prison. Don’t put your freedom at risk. Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC and start your defense plan today. We have years of experience defending clients of sex crimes.

Call us now at (719) 328-1616 and set up a free consultation today. Our team can assess your charges and help you make the next best step. Our offices are located in Colorado Springs, but we practice throughout El Paso County including Fountain, Manitou Springs, and Calhan.


Overview of Sexual Assault of a Child in CO


Back to top

What is Sexual Assault on a Child in Colorado?

Sexual assault on a child is defined as having sexual contact with a child under the age of 15, who is at least four years younger than you. The term “sexual contact” can consist of touching the breasts, buttocks or genital areas in a sexual manner.

The child does not have to be unclothed for you to be charged with sexual assault. Touching the alleged victim through their clothes is enough to constitute sexual assault charges. The penalties for sexual assault on a child depend on the circumstances of the offense and if you were in a position of trust with respect to the victim.

Sexual Assault on a Child Penalties in Colorado

Sexual assault on a child without aggravating factors is a class 4 felony, which is punishable by:

  • Up to 6 years in prison; and
  • A fine of up to $500,000

Sexual assault on a child can be enhanced to a class 3 felony with the classification as a violent crime if you did any of the following during the offense:

  • Used force to make the child submit;
  • Threatened the child with serious bodily injury, imminent death, extreme pain, kidnapping of the victim or another person;
  • Threatened to cause future death to the child; or
  • The crime was a part of a pattern of sexual abuse

The term “serious bodily injury” is defined under Colorado law as bodily injury involving substantial risk of death, second or third-degree burns, serious permanent disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of a body part or organ.

A class 3 felony can result in:

  • Up to 12 years in prison; and
  • A fine of up to $750,000

The court may increase the maximum sentence to life in prison if:

  • You used, possessed or threatened to use a deadly weapon during the crime; or
  • The victim or any other person suffered seriously bodily injury or death

Back to top

Sexual Assault on a Child by One in Position of Trust

A person who is in a position of trust tis when you are in any way responsible for the child’s:

  • Health;
  • Education;
  • Welfare; or
  • Supervision

If you are considered a person in position of trust by the court, then your penalties will be elevated. Sexual assault on a child who is 15, 16 or 17 years old by one in position of trust is a class 4 felony, which is punishable by:

  • 6 years in prison; and
  • A fine of up to $500,000

The crime can be enhanced to a class 3 felony if:

  • The victim was under the age of 15 years old; or
  • The crime was a part of the pattern of sexual abuse

The penalties for a class 3 felony include:

  • Up to 12 years in prison; and
  • A fine of up to $750,000

Back to top

Required Sex Offender Registry in Colorado

An additional condition to your sentencing for sexual assault on a child is the required registration with the Colorado Bureau of Investigation’s (CBI) sex offender registry. You must input your personal information with the registry and update officials every time you move into a new community. They will then notify all members of your neighborhood of your sex offender status.

Being registered as a sex offender could affect how you make personal relationships. Additionally, employers may not hire you based on your criminal history. If you fail to register with the CBI, then you will be charged with a class 6 felony that can result in:

  • Up to 18 months in jail; and
  • A fine of up to $100,000

Back to top

Additional Resources

Convicted Sex Offender Database – Visit the official website for the Colorado Bureau of Investigation to learn more about their sex offender registry. Access their site to see how you can look up sexually violent predators, multiple offenders, felony sex offenders and people who have failed to register as a sex offender.

Sexual Assault on a Child – Visit the official website of the Colorado laws and legislation to learn more about their sex crime laws. Access their statutes to read the charge specifics, penalties and what qualifies as a violent sexual assault.


Back to top

Defense Lawyer for Sexual Assault on a Child in El Paso County, CO

If you or someone you know has been charged with sexual assault involving a child, it’s crucial you have legal counsel. A sexual assault case with children could really influence how a jury decides your verdict. Because of this, it’s important you have a sturdy defense in court.

Call Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC and speak to an experienced defense sex crimes lawyer. Our attorneys will utilize our knowledge and resources to chart out a defense plan for you. You can contact us by phone at (719) 328-1616 to set up a consultation. Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC accepts clients throughout the greater El Paso County and surrounding counties including Denver County and Arapahoe County.


Back to top

Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C.