Communicating with a child online to plan a sexual meet-up is a crime in Colorado. Luring a child under the age of 15 with an electronic device is a felony. If you’re convicted of the crime you could face expensive thousand-dollar fines and even prison time. This doesn’t even include the possible registration of a sex offender with the Colorado Bureau of Investigations.
Using social media, instant messaging, or any other online platform to lure a child for a sexual encounter could constitute as internet luring of a child. It’s important you have a strong defense when you’re called into court. If you or someone you know has been charged with luring a child online, it’s important you seek legal representation.
Defense Attorney for Luring a Child Online in Colorado Springs, CO
Have you been accused of luring a child online in the Colorado Springs are? It’s imperative you have legal counsel to address these charges. Luring a child over the internet can result in felony charges, meaning prison time. If you or someone you know has been charged with luring a child online, it’s crucial you contact Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C..
The attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. have years of experience with sexual crimes, especially ones involving children. We can analyze the case to see what the best step forward is. Call (719) 328-1616 now to set up a consultation today. Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. represents people throughout El Paso County and surrounding counties including Denver County and Arapahoe County.
Overview of Internet Luring of a Child in CO
- What Constitutes as Luring a Child Online in Colorado?
- Penalties for Luring a Child Over the Internet
- Required Registration to Colorado Sex Offender Database
- Additional Resources
What Constitutes Luring a Child Online in Colorado?
It’s illegal to invite a child for a sexual purpose on an online platform. The crime violates Title 18 Article 3 and Part 3 of the Colorado Revised Code which states you cannot:
- Knowingly communicate over a computer, computer network, telephone network, data network, text message or instant message to a person; and
- That person is under the age of 15 years old; and
- You are four years older than the child; and
- Communicated descriptions of explicit sexual conduct such as sexual intercourse and make a statement to persuade or invite the child over for a sexual reason.
Saying the child lied about their age is not a defense in Colorado. You can still be arrested for luring a child over the internet even if the meeting never takes place. For example, if you were caught inviting a child over for sexual reasons in a sting operation you would still be charged.
Penalties for Luring a Child Over the Internet in CO
The penalties for luring a child over the internet are incredibly serious. If the purpose of luring the child over the internet was to engage in sexual exploitation of the child, then the crime is a class 4 felony. The penalties for a class 4 felony include:
- Up to 6 years in prison;
- 3 years of mandatory parole; and
- Mandatory registration as a Colorado sex offender
All other cases of luring a child online is a class 5 felony, which is punishable by:
- Up to 3 years in prison; and
- A fine of up to $100,000
Required Registration to Colorado Sex Offender Database
If you’re convicted of luring a child online, expect to be court-ordered to register as a sex offender. You will have to input your personal information into the Colorado Bureau of investigations (CBI) sex registry. The database allows the general public to look up your sex offender status and the crimes you committed.
Being labeled as a sex offender could limit your professional and personal goals. Employers, licensing agencies and educational institutions will be able to pull up your status online. You might have issues obtaining housing and you will have to disclose of your sex offender status to every new community you move to.
The following is the information required to register with the CBI sex offender database.
- Date of birth;
- Crime and date you were convicted;
- Predatory habits that may have been found out by CBI; and
- Whether you’re a “sexually violent predator”
You can be classified as a “sexually violent predator” if you:
- Were 18 at the time of the offense and tried as a adult;
- The child was a stranger and the relationship you established was for sexual victimization reasons only; and
- You were assessed by CBI and they said you were likely to commit another sex crime
- You carry a similar classification form another state and move to Colorado.
Child Safe – Visit a collection of local Colorado non-profits referred to as Child Safe. A collective organization that wishes to eliminate child sexual abuse in Colorado through research, therapy and helping child sex abuse survivors to find their voice.
Colorado Internet Luring of a Child Laws – Visit the official site for Colorado laws and legislation by visiting their Revised Statues. Access the laws to learn the charge specifics, penalties and other crimes related to sex or kidnapping.
Defense Lawyer Online Exploitation of a Child in El Paso County, CO
If you or someone you know has been charged with sexual exploitation of a child, it’s vital you have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. An attorney can evaluate your case to find out all your available legal options. Find a sex crimes defense attorney today by calling Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C..
Our legal team at Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. are passionate about defending others. We can utilize our resources to help you mount a strong defense. Call (719) 328-1616 to set up a consultation. Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. accepts clients throughout the greater Colorado Springs area including Manitou Springs, Fountain and Peyton.