It might seem like harmless fun in comedies but exposing yourself in public could lead to criminal charges. Indecent exposure is when you masturbate in public or flash your genitals to another person or in a public place. The charge can result in a misdemeanor, which includes an expensive fine and even jail time.
Indecent exposure charges are nothing to be laughed at. If you or someone you know has been charged with indecent exposure, it’s recommended you hire an experienced criminal defense attorney. A conviction could affect your career, personal relationships and educational opportunities.
Defense Attorney for Indecent Exposure in Colorado Springs, CO
Usually, an indecent exposure charge happens from a mistake. Move on from this event by hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney. A defense lawyer can analyze your charges and assess what the next best move is. Find quality legal representation by calling Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C..
The attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. can help you with excellent legal service. We can analyze your charges and uncover all your possible options. Call us now at (719) 328-1616 today to schedule a free consultation. Our attorneys practice throughout the greater El Paso County area and surrounding counties including Denver County and Arapahoe County.
Overview of Indecent Exposure in Colorado
- What Constitutes as Indecent Exposure in Colorado?
- Penalties for Indecent Exposure in Colorado
- Public Indecency Charges in Colorado
- Additional Resources
What Constitutes as Indecent Exposure in Colorado?
In Colorado, you’re guilty of indecent exposure if:
- You knowingly exposed your genitals to any person or to the public and caused affront or alarm to the other person for a sexual purpose; or
- You knowingly masturbated in front of another person or in public with intent to alarm or affront another person or people.
It’s important to note you can be charged with indecent exposure even if you only pretended to masturbate. If it caused alarm or affronted another person then it’s still considered to be indecent exposure. You must have an intent to alarm and affront as well as be viewed by other people to be charged with indecent exposure.
Penalties for Indecent Exposure in Colorado
The penalties for indecent exposure rely on your criminal history. Indecent exposure is a class 1 misdemeanor for first time offenders, which is punishable by:
- Up to 18 months in jail; and
- A fine of up to $5,000
If you have two prior indecent exposure convictions or comparable offenses, then you may be charged with a class 6 felony. The penalties for a class 6 felony include:
- Up to 18 months in prison; and
- A fine of up to $100,000
As an additional condition, Colorado requires indecent exposure offenders to register as sex offenders. The registry is run by the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) and you’ll be required to enter personal information as well as your offense to the general public. You may even be obligated to notify your neighbors of your status if you’re a repeat offender.
Penalties for Public Indecency in Colorado
A charge commonly associated with indecent exposure is public indecency. If you do any one or more of the following in public then you’ll be charged with public indecency:
- Sexual intercourse;
- Lewdly fondling someone;
- Lewdly exposing your genitals; or
- Lewdly fondling yourself
People do not have to see the act for you to be charged with public indecency. As long as the act happened in the open where anyone could see it’s considered public indecency. For example, if a couple had sex in a public parking lot but no one saw, they could still be charged with public indecency. In some cases, urinating in public could be charged as public indecency.
Public indecency is a class 1 petty offense which is punishable by:
- Up to 6 months in jail; and
- A fine of up to $500
Prison Policy Initiative – Visit the official website of the Prison Policy Initiative, a non-profit and non-partisan organization dedicated to reducing the mass incarceration happening across the United States. Access the site to learn more about their publications, issues with criminalization in America and topics on their blog.
Indecent Exposure Laws in Colorado – Visit the official website of the Colorado Revised Statutes to read their laws on indecent exposure. Access the legislation to learn the elements of the crime, their associated penalties and other related crimes.
Indecent Exposure Lawyer in Colorado Springs, CO
If you or someone you know has been charged with indecent exposure in the Colorado Springs area, it’s imperative you have legal counsel. A conviction for indecent exposure could affect your future career or educational opportunities. In addition, you may even be registered as a sex offender as a condition of your sentencing.
Call the attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. to start your defense today. Our sex crimes attorneys are experienced and can guide you through this legal process. Contact us by phone at (719) 328-1616 to set up your free consultation. The attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. practice throughout the greater Colorado Springs area including Calhan, Manitou Springs, Fountain and Monument.