Most people are aware it’s illegal to have sexual contact with a child but the mere invitation of a minor over for a sexual purpose is itself a separate crime. If you do, you could be charged with enticement of a child, which is a felony offense.
Inviting, persuading to come over or attempting to invite a child under fifteen with the intent to commit sexual assault can result in severe penalties. A conviction could mean fines in the thousands and even possible time behind bars. If you or someone you know has been charged with enticement of a child, it’s imperative you gain legal representation.
Defense Attorney for Enticement of a Child in Colorado Springs, CO
Inviting or coercing a child to another location for the sole purpose of sexual assault or sexual contact may land you in hot water. You could be charged with enticement of a child and be saddled with felony charges. Thankfully, you have options. You can contact the attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. to start a strong defense.
Call us now at (719) 328-1616 to set up a free consultation. Our defense lawyers will analyze your case to uncover all your available legal options. Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. accepts clients throughout the El Paso County and surrounding counties including Denver County and Arapahoe County.
Overview of Enticement of a Child in Colorado
- What is Enticement of a Child in Colorado?
- Penalties for Enticement of a Child
- Conditions for Enticement of a Child
- Additional Resources
What is Enticement of a Child in Colorado?
Enticement of a child is a serious charge under Colorado law. The crime defined under Title 18 Article 3 Part 3 of the Colorado Revised Code (18-3-305 C.R.S) as the enticement or persuasion or attempt to entice or persuade a child under the age of 15 years old to enter a residence with the intent to commit sexual assault or unlawful sexual contact.
The offense also includes vehicles or secluded places such as an alleyway or outdoor park. You can still be charged with enticement of a child if you were caught through a sting operation scheme or if the child was lying about their age. If you attempt to entice a child through an electronic device, then you could be charged with internet luring of a child.
Penalties for Enticement of a Child in Colorado
A first-time offender will be charged with a class 4 felony in Colorado. The charge includes mandatory prison time and the maximum sentence is:
- Up to 6 years in prison; and
- A fine of up to $500,000
The charge can be enhanced to a class 3 felony if:
- The event results in bodily injury to the child; or
- You’ve been previously convicted for:
- Enticement of a child;
- Sexual assault on a child;
- Conspiracy or attempt to commit either crime listed above
A class 3 felony is punishable by:
- Up to 12 years in prison; and
- A fine of up to $750,000
Additional Sentencing Conditions for Enticing a Child
If you’re convicted of enticement of a child, you will be required to register as a sex offender with the Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) registry. This includes if you plead no contest also known as nolo contendere. You’ll then be labeled as a registered sex offender.
Registering as a sex offender can tremendously impact your life. Employers, educational institutions and licensing agencies will be able to know your status through the CBI sex offender registry. In addition, every time you move you will have to notify the community of your sex offender status.
If you’re a current or former employee of a Colorado school district, a conviction could mean trouble. If you have a teaching license the court will automatically report you to the Department of Education if:
- You’re convicted;
- You plead no contest; or
- You received deferred judgement for the crime
The Department of Education will then have the right to perform disciplinary action if they see fit. This means you could have your teaching license restricted, suspended or even revoked.
Prevent Child Abuse – Visit the official website of the Prevent Child Abuse America, a non-profit dedicated to eliminating child abuse. Access the site to gain access to parenting tips for child abuse survivors, resources, and ways to get involved.
Enticement of a Child – Visit the official website of the Colorado Revised Statues to learn more about their criminal code. Access their laws to find the charge specifics for enticement, the penalties and other related crimes.
Defense Lawyer for Enticement of a Child in El Paso County, CO
If you or someone you know has been charged with enticing a child, it’s important you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. The defense lawyers at Law Offices of Clifton Black, P.C. excel at representing people accused of sex crimes. We have the experience and resources you need to fight your charges.
Call us now at (719) 328-1616 to schedule a free consultation. Our attorneys practice throughout the greater Colorado Springs area including Manitou Springs, Fountain, Calhan, and Peyton.