If you threaten someone to the point that the alleged victim feels scared for his or her life, you could be charged with criminal menacing.
A conviction for menacing can lead to fines and jail time. The penalties are increased if a deadly weapon was used during the alleged encounter that led to the charge of menacing.
Don’t take chances with your freedom. Hiring an experienced attorney can help avoid costly penalties and help you move on with your life.
Defense Lawyer for Menacing in Colorado Springs, CO
If you have been charged with menacing in Colorado, it is important for you to build a defense before you hit the courtroom. A skilled criminal defense lawyer can help reduce penalties and may get the charges dismissed.
The attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC are knowledgeable in numerous aspects of Colorado law. Call us now at (719)328-1616 and set up a consultation. Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC accepts clients throughout the greater Colorado Springs area including Fountain, Calhan, and Manitou Springs.
Overview of Menacing in Colorado
- What Does Colorado Consider to Be Menacing?
- What Are the Penalties for Menacing?
- Additional Resources
What Does Colorado Consider to Be Menacing?
Menacing is defined under Colorado law as a threat or physical action that causes someone to be in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
The law focuses on whether the accused intended to cause the victim to feel he or she was going to be harmed. Prosecutors don’t have to prove the victim felt fear. Rather, prosecutors must prove the accused meant to cause the victim to fear for bodily harm. If a weapon was involved, the penalties can increase dramatically.
What Are the Penalties for Menacing?
The charges of menacing can either be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on if a deadly weapon is involved.
Menacing is generally a class 3 misdemeanor, which can include up to 6 months in jail and a fine up to $750. If the defendant displayed or used a deadly weapon during the incident, the menacing charge is enhanced to a class 5 felony. The penalties for felony menacing can include up to three years in prison and a fine ranging from $1,000 to $10,0000.
If you’re charged with felony menacing, you could lose your right to own a firearm.
Stop Street Harassment – This nonprofit organization gives people practical advice on how to stop people from being harassed in public. Knowing effective ways to respond to menacing behavior can help to reduce threats to your safety.
National Domestic Violence Hotline – Anyone who is suffering from domestic violence is encouraged to reach out and talk to someone on how he or she can resolve it.
Defense Lawyer for Menacing in El Paso County, CO
If you or someone you know has been charged with menacing, it may be in your best interest to contact a defense lawyer. Being charged with menacing can lead to fines and jail time, and can potentially ruin personal and work relationships. Contact Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC to learn what your available legal options are today.
The Attorneys at Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC are well-versed in Colorado’s legal system. We can assist you by suppressing evidence, cross-examining witnesses and doing anything else that is needed for your case. Call (719)328-1616 now to set up a consultation. Law Offices of Clifton Black, PC accepts clients throughout the greater El Paso County Area including El Paso County, Denver County and Arapahoe County.