You got a DUI in Colorado, and now you’re worried about the potential penalties and consequences. What’s going to happen to you? Are you going to lose your license or, worse, be sent to jail? Is this going to follow you for the rest of your life?
At this time, it’s critical to learn what you’re up against – and to reach out to a criminal defense attorney ASAP.
First, here’s some information about the penalties and consequences of a Colorado DUI.
Time in Jail
Whether this is your first DUI or you’re a repeat offender, you could be sent away to serve time in jail. A first-offense DUI may include five days to up to a year in jail, but if your BAC (blood alcohol content) was .20% or greater, you’ll definitely be sent to jail if you’re convicted. For your second DUI, you might be sent to jail for 10 days to a year, and for your third DUI, that goes up to 60 days to one year in jail.
Along with court costs, you’ll have to pay big fines when you get a DUI the first, second, or third time around. For the first DUI, the fine will range from $600-$1,000; for the second DUI, it’ll range from $600-$1,500; and for the third DUI, it’ll range from $600-$1,500.
You could get your license revoked for a certain period of time. For your first DUI, it’s 9 months, for your second DUI, it’s 1 year, and for your third DUI, it’s 2 years. You may be able to get your license reinstated early if you drive with an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in your vehicle.
How a Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help
If you’ve been charged with a DUI, it doesn’t mean you have to plead guilty. With the help of a lawyer, you may be able to fight these charges and have your charges reduced or dropped altogether.
When you call an attorney, they’re going to ask about what happened when you got arrested as well as the evidence the prosecutor has. Once you talk to your attorney, they may figure out that the police unlawfully pulled you over and searched you. Or, the evidence might not be as strong as you think. Your attorney could potentially get the charges dropped by showing that you were not correctly arrested and charged or have them reduced by having you plead guilty or no contest.
Even though you have a legal right to a public defender through the court, it’s always a better idea to hire your own representation. Public defenders are saddled with many cases at once and won’t be able to give yours the individualized attention it deserves.
There is just too much on the line for you to take a gamble. Make sure you find an experienced attorney to help you out with your case and get you back on the right track.
Get in Touch With the Law Offices of Clifton Black
Do you need help after getting a DUI in Colorado? Make sure you contact the Law Offices of Clifton Black for immediate help. We will work hard on your case in your time of need. Call us now at (719) 328-1616 or get in touch on our website. We look forward to helping you.